Always by Kindle Alexander

Image No spoilers here folks. Cause I didn’t finish it.

I don’t understand. It’s getting rave reviews on Amazon. Five stars and everything. It’s No. 1 somewhere.

Didn’t do a thing for me. I reached 54% and let go. Wasn’t drawn in the story, found the writing a bit too sweet for my taste, the characters seemed to be built by words (adjectives mostly) and not so much feeling or emotion or thoughts. I felt I was seeing a movie with bits cut out to fit into a two-hour prime-time slot where someone might tell me “you should read the book, it explains a lot” except this is the book. They meet, they fall in love, they go on with their romantic life of which I won’t tell you too much cause you’ll read the book (remember: rave, fabulous, fantastic reviews). The story jumped from one big event in their lives to another, with nothing in between. You know they end up together because the book starts with them being an old married couple (no spoiler there). 

Am I missing the whole point of the story by not reading past 54%? Perhaps. The first half glides along, giving you a superficial look at their almost perfect life with perfect emotion and perfect descriptions. If that’s an introduction to the real heart of the story, it was too long for me. 

Hot, sex scenes, yes. Depth, not enough for me. Maybe I like more complicated, heart-wrenching stories with flawed main characters.

 

It’s not reviewed on amazon.ca, but it’s got 230 reviews that put it at 5 stars on amazon.com. Must be just me. Congratulations, Ms. Alexander. It’s a success.

Hmm? What was that?